Offices in Americus, GA and Columbus, GA

Close this search box.


Like many rural parts of Georgia, the River Valley is sparse, and getting from places like home to work, or just to the grocery store can be difficult without reliable transportation. RVRC, through its Transit program, works to ensure that communities in the region have reliable transportation for those in need. RVRC strives to empower its communities to strengthen their transportation systems and work to solve transit issues. 

Formula Grants for Rural Areas – 5311 

5311 grants are funds for rural areas that provide capital, planning, and operating assistance to support public transportation in rural areas with populations of less than 50,000. Eligible activities include planning, capital, operating, job access and reverse commute projects, and the acquisition of public transportation services.   

River Valley Regional Commission assists communities with applying for these funds and helps them make strategic plans to use them. Communities interested in applying for 5311 funds should call RVRC’s Transit Department at 706-256-2910 for assistance. 

Lower Chattahoochee Regional Transit Authority 

The Lower Chattahoochee Regional Transit Authority (LCRTA) consists of a six-county Regional Transit Facility located in Springvale (Randolph County), which serves as the headquarters for the Clay County Transit and Pataula Transit (Quitman, Stewart, and Randolph). In July 2022, the LCRTA also began providing transportation services in Chattahoochee and Harris Counties. RVRC assists the LCRTA with applying for and managing 5311 grants.

DHS Rural Transit Program 

RVRC, through the Georgia Department of Human Services (DHS), holds a regional contract for DHS’s Rural Transit Program. Through this program, RVRC is able to hire subcontractors and transport providers to assist eligible people in the region with transportation needs.  

Transit planners work with Resource Management Systems, Inc. (RMS), MCA Transportation, and other providers for delivery of Regional Human Service Transportation across the RVRC region. MCA Transportation serves Chattahoochee, Harris, Muscogee, and Talbot counties. RMS serves Clay, Quitman, Randolph, and Stewart counties. METRA serves the Columbus/Muscogee area. 


For information about transit planning or any of the transit programs, please call RVRC at 706-256-2910 or email 

Exhibit 18 

The River Valley Regional Commission is applying for funding under the Section 5310 Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities Transportation Program to meet the special needs of elderly and disabled individuals located in Clay, Crisp, Dooly, Macon, Marion, Harris, Muscogee, Randolph, Stewart, Sumter and Taylor Counties. 

To assure that private for-profit transportation providers have a fair opportunity to participate in the development of this program, the River Valley Regional Commission solicits private sector input and participation.            

Disadvantage Business Enterprises and any private for-profit transportation operator interested in providing or participating in any or all the above services should submit a written notice of intent to: 

River Valley Regional Commission 
228 West Lamar Street 
Americus, GA 31709 


Lower Chattahoochee Regional Transit Authority will make reasonable modifications to policies, practices, or procedures when the modifications are necessary to avoid discrimination on the basis of disability or to provide program accessibility to its services, subject to the limitations of Federal Regulations 37.169(c)(1)-(3).  Individuals requesting modifications shall contact the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator and describe what they need in order to use the service.  Individuals requesting modifications are not required to use the term “reasonable modification” when making a request.

Notifying the Public of Rights Under Title VI     Lower Chattahoochee Regional Transportation Authority (LCRTA) operates its programs and services without regard to race, color, and national origin in accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. Any person who believes she or he has been aggrieved by any unlawful discriminatory practice under Title VI may file a complaint with LCRTA.

Click here to download the complaint form.

     For more information on LCRTA’s civil rights program, and the procedures to file a complaint, contact 877-819-6348, (TTY 1-800-255-0056); email; or visit the administrative office located in the River Valley Regional Commission building located at 228 West Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709. If the information is needed in another language, contact 877-819-6348.

You may also file your complaint directly with the Federal Transit Administration Office at:

Federal Transit Administration Office of Civil Rights
Attention: Title VI Program Coordinator,
East Building, 5th Floor – TCR
1200 New Jersey Ave., SE
Washington, DC 20590

Baja Chattahoochee Regional
Autoridad de transporte

La Autoridad de Transporte Regional de Lower Chattahoochee sirve a los condados de Quitman, Randolph y Stewart.

Notificación al público de los derechos bajo el Título VI

La Autoridad de Transporte Regional de Lower Chattahoochee (LCRTA) opera sus programas y servicios sin importar la raza, el color y el origen nacional de acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles. Cualquier persona que crea que él o ella ha sido agravada por cualquier práctica discriminatoria ilegal bajo el Título VI puede presentar una queja ante LCRTA.

Haga clic aquí para descargar la versión en español del formulario de queja.

Para obtener más información sobre el programa de derechos civiles de LCRTA y los procedimientos para presentar una queja, comuníquese al 877-819-6348 (TTY 1-800-255-0056); correo electrónico; o visite la oficina administrativa ubicada en el edificio de la Comisión Regional de River Valley ubicado en 228 West Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709. Si necesita información en otro idioma, llame al 877-819-6348.

También puede presentar su queja directamente en la Oficina Federal de Administración de Tránsito en:

Administración Federal de Tránsito Oficina de Derechos Civiles
Atención: Coordinador del Programa Título VI,
Edificio este, 5to piso – TCR
1200 New Jersey Ave., SE
Washington, DC 20590