Offices in Americus, GA and Columbus, GA

Close this search box.

Stewart County

Learn more about this RVRC County below:


Links &




In 1825, a portion of the territory ceded to the United States by the Treaty of Indian Springs, made in February 1825 between the United States and the Creek Indians, was made into Lee County. Three years later, in 1828, the County of Randolph was made from part of Lee County and Lumpkin was the county seat.

On December 23, 1830, Stewart County was formed from a portion of the Randolph territory which included Districts 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, and portions of 31, 32 and 33. This included the City of Lumpkin which became the Stewart County seat. Later, portions of Stewart County went to form parts of Webster, Quitman, Marion, and Chattahoochee counties.

Stewart County was named for General Daniel Stewart, who was born October 20, 1759, in Saint John’s Parish, now Liberty County. General Stewart served in the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. He was the great-grandfather of President Theodore Roosevelt. He died in 1829.

Communities in Stewart County include Green Grove, Louvale, Lumpkin, Omaha, and Richland.

Lumpkin is the County Seat.