Offices in Americus, GA and Columbus, GA


Responsibilities in the River Valley Region

About the Council

The River Valley Regional Council is composed of representatives from our 16 counties and 35 cities. The council is responsible for establishing policy guidance for the agency, adopting an annual work program and budget, and employing an executive director. Council make-up is a combination of locally elected officials, state appointments and private industry appointments to make sure we have broad and comprehensive guidance on the work we do.  

The Regional Council meetings are usually held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 10:30 a.m. at the Marion County Commissioner’s Office (100 Burkhalter Avenue, Buena Vista), unless otherwise posted. Due to the pandemic, meetings have been held via ZOOM meeting. Please contact the RVRC for more information regarding virtual meeting accessibility. 

2021 Council Representatives

Jerry “Pops” Barnes, Chair 

Greg Barineau  
Jimmy Babb  
Jeanie Bartee  
Knox Blackmar 
Danny Blackmon 
Jimmy Bradley 
Julie Brown 
Kevin Brown 
Nelson Brown 
Melvin Crimes 
Eddie Daniels
James Davenport 
Greg Dominy 
Sam Farrow 
Mickey George 
Matt Gunnels 
Tameka Harris 
H. “Skip” Henderson
Bruce Hill 
Damon Hoyte
Terrell Hudson 
Clay Jones 
Tony Kennedy 
Harry Lange 
Carvel Lewis 
Freeman Montgomery 
James Morton 
Steve Whatley 
Barry Whitley 
Joe Lee Williams  



Richard McCorkle  
Maggie McGruther 
A.J. Rivers 
Dr. Carole Rutland 


Doug Etheridge  
Jayson Griffin
Randy Howard 
Chip Jones 
Pam Jordon 
Dr. Edward Lee 
Tom Queen 
Wally Summers 
James R. “Bump” Welch