Stewart County

In 1825, a portion of the territory ceded to the United States by the Treaty of Indian Springs, made in February 1825 between the United States and the Creek Indians, was made into Lee County. Three years later, in 1828, the County of Randolph was made from part of Lee County and Lumpkin was the county seat.

On December 23, 1830, Stewart County was formed from a portion of the Randolph territory which included Districts 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, and portions of 31, 32 and 33. This included the City of Lumpkin which became the Stewart County seat. Later, portions of Stewart County went to form parts of Webster, Quitman, Marion, and Chattahoochee counties.

Stewart County was named for General Daniel Stewart, who was born October 20, 1759, in Saint John's Parish, now Liberty County. General Stewart served in the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. He was the great-grandfather of President Theodore Roosevelt. He died in 1829.

Stewart County Courthouse

Click on picture for
Georgia Snapshot

View the Stewart County and Cities of Lumpkin and Richland Joint Solid Waste Management Plan


ChattahoocheeCrispClayDoolyHarrisMuscogeeMacon Marion
QuitmanRandolphSchley StewartSumterTalbotTaylorWebster

Send email with questions or comments about this web site. 
Copyright © 2009 River Valley Regional Commission. Last modified: 08/07/13.