Harris County

Harris County was created on December 14, 1827, from Troup and Muscogee counties. This was land that was originally distributed by the 1827 Land Lottery and later by the 1832 Land Lottery. The new county was named for Charles Harris, a distinguished Savannah lawyer who died about the time the county was established. He was thought by many to be the best lawyer in Georgia at that time.

The county seat of Harris County is Hamilton, which was incorporated on December 20, 1828. It is located one mile south of Pine Mountain. Hamilton may have been named for Alexander Hamilton, the first Secretary of the Treasury in Washington's cabinet. But another theory has it named for George W. Hamilton, a prominent South Carolinian. Other towns in Harris County are: Pine Mountain, Waverly Hall, Shiloh and Ellerslie. Harris County is also home to beautiful Callaway Gardens.

Harris-County Courthouse

Click on picture for
Georgia Snapshot

Traffic Study - Villages at Harris Creek



Harris County Solid Waste Management Plan 2009
Harris County Solid Waste Management Plan


Click on the links below for information on

Harris County's Comprehensive Plan

Completion Schedule
Community Participation

Element 1 Population

Element 2 Economic Development
Element 3 Housing
Element 4 Natural and Cultural Resources
Element 5 Community Facilities
Element 6 Transportation
Letter of Adoption from Dept. of Community Affairs
Community Assessment
Transmittal Resolution
Character Area Map


Click on the links below for information on the      Town of Pine Mountain Comprehensive Plan
Community Facilities Element Draft
Economic Development Element Draft
Housing Element Draft
Intergovernmental element Draft
Natural Resources Element Draft
Population Element Draft
Transportation Element Draft
Vision Statement


Click on the links below for information on the      City of Hamilton Comprehensive Plan

ChattahoocheeCrispClayDoolyHarrisMuscogeeMacon Marion
QuitmanRandolphSchley StewartSumterTalbotTaylorWebster

Send email with questions or comments about this web site. 
Copyright 2009 River Valley Regional Commission. Last modified: 08/07/13.